Patchwork & Quilting Module 1 Chapter 1

fullsizerender

Module 1 Chapter 1

Fabrics & Threads

Materials I need to collect for chapter 1

As I have been sewing and making quilts for several years I have quite a collection of fabrics. I pick these up from fabric shops and from charity shops. They may be pieces of fabric or items of clothing which I upcycle into quilts.

It has been good to just re look at what I have and to assess the plain and patterned fabrics and how they work together.

I have never considered including patterned and plain papers to help with colour/design ideas when planning projects to make and so this task has been hugely helpful.

img_3858-1

 

Design Equipment

I have collected marking equipment to carry out Task 6 later in chapter 1. I had a few items before starting this course and was interested in finding and trying out the other items suggested.

img_3861

 

Sewing Equipment

Once again, I already had this equipment without needing to go shopping. I have never been able to get on with the quilting finger guard and just use a normal thimble whilst quilting. I usually use quilting thread but on occasion use the beeswax block if I’m using ordinary thread. I have a variety of needles including sharps and betweens. I use two different ¼” rulers, curved quilters pins for basting layers and a rotary cutter

img_4176

 

Module 1 Chapter 1

Task 1 & 2

I have put together a collection of patterned and plain fabrics and  patterned and plain papers, using different colours and designs. As I mentioned previously I have collected the fabrics over the past years from fabric shops, charity shops and friends who have passed on their off cuts. In the past I have bought fat quarters of fabrics from shops but usually now I like to buy bigger pieces and often use online shops. The down fall of this is that I am unable to feel the texture and check the crease etc.

 

 

 

Module 1 Chapter 1

Task 3

For this task I needed to experiment with cutting, press-creasing, scrunching and marking each of my selected fabrics. I then recorded my compare and contrast results. This was an interesting experiment, I always prefer to use 100% cotton for my patchwork projects for all the positive reasons in this task, it creases well when pressed with a finger, it irons and cuts easily and doesn’t fray too much.

task-3-chart

 

Module 1 Chapter 1

Task 4

Sorting out Patterns & Colours

For this task I needed to collect an assortment of plain and patterned fabrics/papers of one colour. Place them in two columns, one of plains and one of patterns with a combination of darks and lights with lightest at one end and darkest at the other.

The pieces needed to be the same size and so with the variety of pattern size some pieces could incorporate a whole pattern while some couldnt. I chose to use all fabric and no paper and use the colour blue. The patterned pieces were all flat cotton while the plain pieces included fleece and towelling. I found that while some pieces I would definitely put together in a project others I wouldn’t as the shades of blue didn’t complement each other. To incorporate  the choice of different pattern sizes I would need to consider the patchwork sizes carefully or not mix the sizes at all.

task-4-photo

 

Module 1 Chapter 1

Task 5

For this task I was asked to explore stripes and a bold pattern in a repeat pattern. I used glue to stick the pieces to paper and put into my coursework book.

This was an interesting task, I have never used a bold pattern in this way and don’t think I would do so in a quilt, although I am interested to try with a different bold pattern at some point just to see the comparison.

The striped fabric worked well, I have used different striped fabrics together in a quilt before and like the result.

 

Module 1 Chapter 1

Task 6

For this task I was asked to experiment with different marking equipment. I used both plain and patterned fabric drawing around a jar lid and using a H pencil, and air erasable pen, a chalk pen, dressmakers pencil, a mark and erase pen and tailors chalk

I then made a chart by gluing the pieces of fabric onto paper to go into my course book

The Tailors chalk gave the best result on plain fabric and the mark and erase pen gave the best result on the patterned fabric

Author: Lindsey Toms

Maker and designer of handmade quilts

2 thoughts on “Patchwork & Quilting Module 1 Chapter 1”

Leave a Reply

