Module 1 Chapter 2

Module 1 chapter 2

Task 1

For this task, I was asked to make geometric templates. It doesn’t matter how long I have been doing patchwork and quilting I always manage to learn something new.

In the past I have always just measured and cut templates, or drawn around a metal template. I have never thought to use grid paper to make them….so much more simple than measuring and drawing a shape!

I already had grid paper in my sewing room from making clothing patterns for my grandchildren. I cut along the lines to make the required size and shape for squares and rectangles. I then glued these to card board from a cereal packet and  cut them out from that.

I made 1.5” and 2” squares and 1.5” x 3” and 2” x 4” rectangles

task-1-c-templates task-1-b

Module 1 Chapter 2 Patches of Colour

Task 2

For this task I was asked to use the square template that I made for the previous task to make a set of coloured papers in one colour, using different designs and plain paper

I drew around the template and cut out the squares, arranging them in different patterns and then gluing them onto paper.

I found this a helpful way of seeing how quilt designs can be made up using different shapes, sizes and colours

I made the following patterns.

task-2-a    task-2-b    task-2-c

I have never experimented with coloured paper to plan patchwork patterns so this chapter has been invaluable for me and I have learnt so much from doing it.

Module 1 Chapter 2

Task 3

For this task, I was asked to use the same colour range of papers and add one larger square from my prepared templates to produce a range of patterns.

For the first pattern, I used sixteen 1” squares to form four 2” x 2” squares and placed them alternatively on the paper with four 2” x 2” squares

task-3-4       task-3-3                    first pattern                                      second pattern

The second pattern uses sixteen 1” x 1” squares, two of which are in the same pattern as the six 2” x 2” squares

Module 1 Chapter 2

Task 4

Using the same colour scheme I was asked to add a rectangle to the two different sized squares. As I’m doing this with paper I am already going over in my head how fiddly this is going to be when I begin to use fabric and I will need to add seam allowance to the pieces!

task-4-photo

Module 1 Chapter 2

Task 5

For this task I was asked to do the same as task 4 but to change the colour of one of the shapes.

task-5-photo-2

I’m not especially keen on the colour combination I used here but it does show up the different shapes more so than using similar colours

Module 1 Chapter 2

Task 6

This task is carried out by only using rectangles to make up the patterns.

task-6-photo

I think the green paper with small dots works ok but the red with the larger spots, not so well as the spots have been cut in order to make the rectangles the correct size

Module 1 Chapter 2 Task 7

For this task I was asked to repeat my paper blocks in different ways so as to create a range of patterns.

I enjoyed doing this task, I made up a square using four smaller squares, photographed it then reproduced the squares onto a bigger piece of paper twelve times to create the overall design, before then printing it off.  I’ve never thought to do this in the past but think I will do so with fabric when planning a quilt top. This will then give me a prediction of how the finished quilt will look.

I then rotated the blocks of four small squares to create different patterns. I think the colours and patterns on the paper work well. The green spotted squares are made from wrapping paper and the patterned squares are from a photograph of Indian fabric which I the cut up.

task-7-photo

task-7-rotate-1        task-7-rotate2

Module 1 Chapter 2

Task 8                                                             

For this task I am moving onto using fabric and stitching using four 2” fabric squares to form a four-patch block.

I used a previously prepared template made from 2” grid paper stuck onto card. I chose two pieces of colour coordinated fabric, a plain blue and blue flowered piece of Liberty fabric. I lay the template on the WR and straight of grain of the fabric and used two different marking pencils, a light coloured one for the plain blue and a dark coloured one for the fabric. I drew around the template and then used a ¼” rule to add another line to form the stitch allowance. Cutting the fabric out on the outer line.

2 3

4 5

I hand stitched along the sewing line using a running stitch and joined the first two squares together, one plain and one patterned. I then sewed the other two squares together. I lay the two pairs of squares together and pressing the seams with my thumbnail in opposite directions so as to lessen the bulk of fabric, I stitched along this seam.

6 7

8 hand-2

I finished off the block by ironing the seams flat.

Module 1 chapter 2 task 9

For this talk I repeated the first part of task 8 but instead of hand stitching the squares I stitched by machine. When sewing the squares together I used the chain method and continued stitching from one pair of squares across to the other pair. I snipped the joining thread and lay out the two pairs in the same way as the hand stitching method and joined them together. I had never used the chain method of stitching across multiple pairs to save time and will be sure to use in future.

6  machine-2

I ironed the block flat.

On reflection looking at both the finished blocks, I see that the hand stitched one is more accurate than the machine stitched. I find that when stitching along fabric there is some movement on the top layer and then the seams move slightly and don’t match up so well at the end

I feel that the seam junction especially on the machine block, could be neater and certainly be improved. Both finished blocks measure 4 ½”

In the past when stitching small pieces and particularly with a more complicated pattern, I find that I get a more accurate result from hand stitching than from machine stitching. I will usually join the individual pieces by hand and then the finished blocks by machine.

I have mounted both the finished blocks into my coursework book and have made up four more hand stitched blocks ready to use for quilting later on.

work-book-photo    workbook-2

 

 

Author: Lindsey Toms

Maker and designer of handmade quilts

Leave a Reply

