City & Guilds Level 1 certificate Patchwork and Quilting Module 2: Twists Twirls & Swirls

Module 2 is all about creativity and is to encourage me to look afresh at line, shape, texture and colour. For someone who likes to use plain fabrics with just a dash of pattern, this will be a challenge but one that I am definitely up for.

Chapter 1 is taking me into the natural world, which I love and am looking forward to exploring more to relate it to my patchwork.

Chapter 1

A Wealth of Colour

Task 1

For this task, I was asked to gather together images which reflect a variety of colours and fill a page in my coursework book with a range of these images.

I chose flowers and leaves; these images are collected from photographs that I have taken and from magazine cuttings.

task 1 a

This first page shows a selection of natural images, mostly flowers, but also some leaves, in a variety of warm colours and natural shapes.

Task 2

I was asked to fill at least one page of my coursework book with categories of images

task 2 a

This page shows a selection of images grouped together according to colour and species I chose leaves.  I enjoy looking at leaves, I like the natural colour of green and am amazed at the huge variety of shapes, sizes and colours on this page alone.

task 2 b

This page shows a selection of flowers. The hydrangea photo is taken in my daughter’s garden which is full of these beautiful plants, in all different colours. The red rose photo is taken in a friend’s garden and the other pictures taken from magazine. The pictures show an array of  colour, shape and size.

Task 3

For this task I was asked to produce a paper collage by tearing or cutting papers into small pieces.

I used green papers and my grouped images of leaves as a guide. Using a variety of shades of green, some plain and some with patterns on. I found this task quite satisfying, I enjoy choosing colours for my quilts and am quite fussy about which colours to put together. Using different shades of one colour is quite a challenge.

task 3

Task 4

For this task I was asked to produce 2 more examples using different colours and different techniques.

The first example I used purple papers and papers with purple in the pattern, I cut these into strips and wove them together, spreading PVA glue along the top of backing paper, sticking down the tops of the vertical strips, weaving the horizontal strips into these and then gluing the bottom and side ends to the backing paper.  This is a great way of seeing how different patterns/colours blend together.

task 4 a

For the second example I tore strips of different shades of blue paper, spread glue across the backing paper and then lay the strips horizontally onto it.  Although these strips has rough edges to them, I feel that they show a clearer  and less fussy example of how different shades/patterns blend together.

task 4b

Colour Diagrams

For the following tasks I am looking at ‘how to create harmonious and exciting colour schemes in textiles’. In order to do this I have been asked to look at the composition of the basic Colour Wheel.

The Primary colour wheel on the left, contains red, blue and yellow. These colours cannot be made up from other colours

The Primary & Secondary colour wheel on the right, shows the 3 primary colours and in between each are the 3 secondary colours which can be made when equal parts of two primary colours are mixed together

Red & Blue = Purple                 Blue & Yellow = Green                       Yellow & Red = Orange

Task 5

For this task I was asked to use fabric paints to produce a simple colour diagram, painting the primary and secondary colours onto calico fabric.

I cut squares of calico, taped them to my work bench with masking tape to prevent fabric from slipping.

Task 6

For this task I was asked to blend the primaries to produce secondary colours by painting four stripes, red, yellow, blue and red again onto calico and then before the paint had time to dry I used clean water to blend the colours by painting water down between each stripe. I tried this task twice as the paint dries quite fast. I probably should have made the original stripes thicker by using more paint.

 

Limited colour schemes found in nature

When I make quilts I do usually limit my colours, I may use more shades of each colour but I prefer to use less colours to create a less busy result.

Task 7

For this task I was asked to create some limited colour schemes myself by looking closely at images from nature, identifying all the main colours and then picking just three of those colours, the one standing out the most, a really dark colour and then one in between.

papers

I chose three images from my collection of photos and magazine cuttings. I went through my cuttings and pieces of fabric/ribbon to find pieces that matched the colours in the image, I also used some fabric paints. The following three pictures show my results

task 7 a

This image is of stones and leaves in a water, I think the blue is from the sky reflecting into the water, I didnt find it so easy to focus on three limited colours but I enjoyed finding paper to match what I saw in the image.

task 7 b

I was quite excited when I found some gold ribbon in my tin to match the gold in the top right hand corner of this image and I found it easier to pick out three main colours.

task 7 c

I liked the colours in this image of leaves and berries which is why I chose it, but once again I found it quite hard to limit it to three main colours.

 

Author: Lindsey Toms

Maker and designer of handmade quilts

Leave a Reply

