Module 2 Chapter 2

Curvilinear Journeys

Section A Lines and Patterns

For this chapter I have been asked to look closely at the patterns made by lines in some of my collection of natural images and objects

Task 1

This task asked me to make several line drawings with a variety of natural form shapes.

I hand drew my objects, a cedar rose, a sea shell, a pine cone and large pebble from the beach.

Task 2

This task asked me to pick out the prominent details from my natural objects and draw them in black, I used a fine liner and drew them by hand.

 

Drawing with ‘dry’ materials

For this I referred to chapter 1 and used 3 images that I had used before. I glued the images down the centre of the page and drew the images down each side. On the left I used a fine liner for each image and on the right I used a variety of ‘dry’ mark-making tools.

Task 3

First image a charcoal pencil, second image a black pencil crayon and the third image an italic pen. These produced a variety of lines, curved, wavy, straight and both fine and thicker lines.  Due to the nature of my chosen images, I could concentrate on inner and outer lines.

3 images

 

Task 4

This task required the use of a variety of ‘wet’ drawing materials to produce 4 x A5 contrasting line designs on paper, dark lines which show up against a light coloured background.

task 4 cedar rose

First image I used the cedar rose, painted black water colour paint onto the centre and rolled it onto the paper to print the pattern

 

task 4 pine

Second image I used a photo that I had taken of a type of pine tree, I used a glue spatula and black water colour paint to transfer the shape of sharp needles onto the paper

 

task 4 compound

Third image This photo is taken from a magazine, I used a paintbrush and black ink to replicate the smaller parts of a compound leaf.

 

task 4 lemon

Fourth image  This image of lemons was also taken from a magazine, I sliced a lemon in half and using green acrylic paint I printed the inside flesh of the lemon onto the paper.

 

Make patterns with a variety of mark making tools and fabric paints

 Task 5

For this task I was asked to produce 4 test pieces made from using fabric, fabric paint and mark making tools, making marks which reflect natural form details.  I ended up making 5 as I didn’t read the instructions properly and missed out the first experiment where I was asked to completely cover the background with one colour.

I used four post card sized pieces of calico and two different pairs of colours for each piece.

 

yellow

For the first sample, I painted the whole piece yellow and then dipped the edge of a shell into red fabric paint and printed this shape all over the yellow background.

 

For the second sample,  (bottom left in both images) I painted a group of three leaves with green fabric paint and printed these leaves over the fabric I then used the cedar rose from a previous task, painted it with yellow paint and printed it over the leaves

For the third sample, (top left in both images) I used the shell again, dipped it into blue paint and printed the fabric, then mixing blue and red paint and making purple I used a glue spatula and painted a pattern over the shell print.

For the fourth sample, (bottom right in both images) I used the end of a cork, dipped it into the yellow paint and printed over the fabric, then painting the edge of the large pebble from an earlier task I made a trellis work pattern by printing the pebble onto the cork background

For the fifth sample, (top right in both images) I painted a fir cone from a previous task with orange paint, mixed from red and yellow, and then rolled the cone across the calico. I then dipped the end of an old cotton reel into the green paint and stamped a pattern across the cone pattern.

 

After finishing these samples, I then chose two that I thought produced the best finish.

I really liked the leaf with cedar rose print and the fir cone with cotton reel print so I reproduced both of those onto A4 pieces of calico

 

Task 6

For this task I was asked to produce 6 test pieces and then 2 x A4 fabric mono-prints

The examples need to have a selection of integrated and linear lines using a range of colours.

To produce these Mono Prints I used old baking trays, fabric paints and calico. I used a range of mark-making tools, the end of a paint brush, a cotton reel, a glue spreader and the tip of a pen.

I spread fabric paint onto the baking tray using a sponge ended ‘brush’ and a paint brush, from the test pieces you can see that the sponge worked the best without leaving brush strokes. (red and yellow test pieces)

I then made a pattern into the paint with a mark-making tool, lay the fabric onto the paint, gently pressed down with my hands and then peeled the fabric off to reveal the mono print on the underside of the fabric.

 

 Two-colour mono-prints

Task 7

For this task, I was asked to produce at least 2 x A4 two-colour prints using different background fabrics. I made two with calico and one with grey and white ticking fabric.

To do this I covered two baking trays with different colour paints, making a different pattern in each with my mark-making tools.

For the first print, I used red paint for the base pattern, made wavy lines with a paint brush to give the effect of a plant. I lay the calico onto this and pressed gently with my hands. I left that to dry a bit before putting green paint onto the other tray in the same way, using a cotton reel to make a pattern across the ‘plant’ giving the effect of leaves. I then lay the calico onto that tray and the green pattern printed over the red.

 

For the second print, I covered the tray with blue paint, I used the fir cone and rolled it across the paint, giving the effect of sea water, I lay a fresh piece of calico onto it as before. I then spread yellow paint across the second tray and used the tip of a wooden clothes peg to make a trellis pattern across it then lay the calico onto it giving the effect of a fishing net on top of the sea water.

tsk7e

For the third print, I spread green paint across the tray, as I did this some yellow paint which hadn’t completely mixed in showed a little and so I decided not to add another colour. I used the end of the peg again and as I twisted this from side to side it gave the effect of an italic pen, which I think looks quite good.

 

 

Author: Lindsey Toms

Maker and designer of handmade quilts

Leave a Reply

