Module 2 Chapter 3

Chasing Lines – Man made Structures

For this chapter I will be looking at linear and interesting shapes in my environment and using images from my collection of photographs and magazine cuttings.

Task 1

For this task I gathered together pictures that show strong lines within structures and bold shapes.task1

Task 2

For this task I selected 8 images and mounted them together into my cutting board, this collage was a little too big to fit into my course book so I photographed it and have stuck that into my book. I have also used some of these images for following tasks and have stuck the original pictures in where I have used them.

task 1b

Decorative Papers & Fabrics

Task 3

For this task I was asked to use Edge Stencilling technique with coloured oil pastels and fabric crayons

I laid down newspaper to protect my surface and chose 2/3 colours for each piece, using cartridge paper and calico.

The technique required me to cut strips of stiff paper and to thickly colour the edge of these strips with the coloured crayons. I taped the paper/calico to my cutting board with masking tape, then holding the strip onto those background pieces and I used my fingers to press down and slide the strips across the background, causing the strip to leave a stronger colour to begin with, gradually fading to a lighter shade.

 

task 4

I used further strips of stiff paper to add different colours and place them in different positions on the background, using the same technique to make more marks.

I chose one of my earlier images and with Edge Stenciling reproduced that image onto pieces of cartridge paper and calico

task3

 

I chose colours next to each other on the colour wheel plus a contrasting colour.

task3b

 

Task 4

For this task I was asked to choose an image with curved lines to edge stencil colour onto a background of paper and calico

task 4a

 

To make the curved stencil I drew partially around a small bowl then echoed this line by drawing, freehand, another line, cutting the curve out and then coating the edges with colour.

 

 

Method 2

Producing Decorative Fabrics with Masking Tape and Fabric Paints

Task 5

For this task I was asked to produce 2 or more decorative fabric examples using calico, masking tape and diluted fabric paints

I chose two images from my collection. I needed to use pictures containing straight lines and so I found one with ladders and the other of a kitchen ceiling with beams.

I cut two pieces of calico and chose two colours for one design and three colours for the other design.

I put newspaper onto my work surface, lay the fabric on top and applied the masking tape to reflect the lines in the pictures.

task5 c

 

I started with the ladder picture, applied masking tape followed by the lightest colour, yellow, then after applying more tape I added the darker colour of red. The two colours blended in places to produce orange. I wasn’t entirely happy with the result, I found that the watered-down paint spread under the tape and so the result was more of wobbly lines in places rather than crisp straight lines. I didn’t add a third colour to this piece as I thought the result would be too messy.

 

task 5l

 

For the second design, I chose the kitchen ceiling image.

task5 b

I applied the tape in the same way as my previous piece, beginning with white paint, followed by blue and then finally aqua which I made from mixing blue and green.  I used slightly thicker paint which gave a better result although it still spread in places.

 

task 5m

After finishing each piece, I sandwiched them between baking parchment and ironed over to fix the paint.

 

Decorative Papers using Transfer Crayons and Rubbings

Task 6

For this task I was required to use transfer crayons to produce surface decoration rubbings on paper. I produced several small trial examples and then chose two of these to reproduce onto larger paper (A4)

The surfaces I chose were, wire baking rack, radiator grid, rubber bathroom floor tiles and the top of a Lloyd Loom laundry basket and a wicker shopping basket.

I used transfer paper to begin with but as these didn’t transfer well onto fabric, I tried again using computer paper which I found worked better.

I took the rubbings and over lapped with a different colour and position onto the same paper with most of the rubbings. I then cropped the paper rubbings to neaten the edges of the patterns.

task6a

 

From top left

rubber bathroom floor tile, wicker basket, radiator grid, top of Lloyd Loom laundry basket and wire baking rack

 

Task 7

Decorative Papers with Transfer Crayons and Outlines

For this task I was asked to produce several trail examples and to select two of my favourites to make into A4 examples

I chose an iron, the bottom of a triangular grater and the top and bottom of a glass, the bottom being hexagonal and top circular. As I had made these examples on transfer paper and once again they didn’t transfer onto the fabric well, I decided to leave out the shapes from the glass and re drew the others onto computer paper.

I drew around the shapes with a pencil to begin with and then went over the lines with the crayons. I overlapped the shapes to produce linear designs.

I will choose my favourites to stitch later.

 

Task 8

Decorative Papers using Transfer Paints

For this task I was asked to use man made items to make marks with transfer paints onto paper by producing trial examples and choosing two to reproduce into larger examples.

I lay newspaper onto my work surface, set up my brushes, water, pallet and items to print with.  I used a pastry cutter, the prongs of a large plastic kitchen fork, the bristles of a vegetable brush and a wooden clothes peg.

task8a.jpg

 

Task 9

Transferring Crayon/Paint Paper Designs to Synthetic Fabrics

I was looking forward to this task but will admit to being a bit disappointed with my results.

I chose a three synthetic fabrics from my collection, polycotton, polyester and a polycotton with satin finish.

To transfer I lay a piece of cardboard onto my ironing board, turned the iron on to non-steam

I placed the fabric RS facing up, onto the card, lay the paper, design facing down onto the fabric, lay a piece of parchment on top and then applied heat with a hot iron.

task9f.jpg

I kept checking the corners to see if it had worked but found the results really weren’t very successful. I removed the parchment and ironed directly onto the back of the paper and this worked a little better, although still not great.

task9m

I have used coloured background fabrics for some of my examples.

task9g

task9a

task9c

task9b

 

I have mounted some trial examples of my work from this chapter in my course book and kept some back for hand quilting in chapter 4. I was getting a bit confused with which pieces I am supposed to be saving for use later in Module 2 and which for                 Module 3 so I hope I have them all. I have had a read through Chapter 4 and am looking forward to getting started on it 🙂

Author: Lindsey Toms

Maker and designer of handmade quilts

Leave a Reply

